Life Sciences Centre, Lecture Theatre 2 (LSC 2)
The University of British Columbia, 2350 Health Sciences Mall
Monday, October 22, 2012 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm

Hosted by Dr. Michael Hayden, Director, Centre for Molecular Medicine & Therapeutics

William Kaelin, M.D

2010 Canada Gairdner International Award Recipient Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School Associate Director, Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center

Dr. Kaelin obtained undergraduate degrees in mathematics and chemistry from Duke University and an M.D. degree from Duke University School of Medicine. He completed his training in internal medicine at the Johns Hopkins Hospital, where he served as chief medical resident. He was a clinical fellow in medical oncology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and later a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of David Livingston. He joined the faculty at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in 1992, where he is currently a Professor and Associate Director of the Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center, and became a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator in 1998. Dr. Kaelin is a member of the U.S. Institute of Medicine and National Academy of Sciences.

Jeffrey Ravetch, M.D., Ph.D.

2012 Canada Gairdner International Award Recipient

Head, Leonard Wagner Laboratory of Molecular Genetics and Immunology, The Rockefeller University

Dr. Ravetch is a graduate of Yale University, Rockefeller University and Cornell Medical School. He has published over 155 papers in the highest profile journals and received numerous awards for his research including the Coley Award in 2007. His laboratory cloned the first genes for Fc receptors, identified the SHIP inhibitory receptor signaling pathway and contributed significantly to understanding the mechanisms of antibody mediated effector responses, establishing the FcR pathways as fundamental components of the immune response. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

For more information- or call (604)875-3823

Full list of sponsors at: